MATERIALS INNOVATION AND RECYCLING AUTHORITY

FOUR HUNDRED AND FIFTIETH

DEC. 9, 2014

A special telephonic meeting of the Materials Innovation and Recycling Authority Board of Directors was held on Tues. Dec. 9, 2014, in the Board Room at 100 Constitution Plaza, Hartford, CT. Those present were:

Directors: Chairman Don Stein (present by telephone)

Vice-Chairman Barlow (present by telephone)

John Adams

Ralph Eno (present by telephone)
Joel Freedman (present by telephone)
Jim Hayden (present by telephone)
Andy Nunn (present by telephone)
Scott Shanley (present by telephone)

Bob Painter, Mid-CT Ad-Hoc (present by telephone)

Present from MIRA in Hartford:

Tom Kirk, President

Mark Daley, Chief Financial Officer Laurie Hunt, Director of Legal Services

Peter Egan, Director of Operations and Environmental Affairs

Virginia Raymond, Operations Manager

Moira Kenney, HR Specialist/Board Administrator Eileen Kearney, Temporary Board Administrator

Others: Alan P. Curto, Esq., Halloran & Sage; Stan Faryniarz, Managing Consultant, La Capra

Associates, Inc. (present by telephone) and Jenny Martos, Analyst, La Capra Associates,

Inc. (present by telephone)

Chairman Stein called the meeting to order at 2:07 p.m. and said a quorum was present.

PUBLIC PORTION

Chairman Stein said the agenda allowed for a public portion in which the Board would accept written testimony and allow individuals to speak for a limit of three minutes.

As there were no members of the public present wishing to speak, Chairman Stein proceeded with the meeting agenda.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chairman Stein requested a motion to enter into Executive Session to discuss pending litigation, trade secrets, personnel matters, security matters, pending RFP's, and feasibility estimates and

evaluations. The motion, made by Director Adams and seconded by Director Hayden, was approved unanimously. Chairman Stein asked the following people join the Directors in the Executive Session:

Tom Kirk Mark Daley Peter Egan Laurie Hunt Virginia Raymond Alan P. Curto, Esq. Stan Faryniarz Jenny Martos

The Executive Session began at 2:07 p.m. and concluded at 3:00 p.m. The meeting was reconvened at 3:00 p.m., the door was opened, and the Board Secretary and all members of the public (of which there were none) were invited back in for the continuation of public session. Chairman Stein noted that no votes were taken.

The motion to go into Executive Session was approved unanimously by roll call. Chairman Stein, Vice-Chairman Barlow, Director Adams, Director Freedman, Director Hayden, Director Nunn, Director Painter and Director Shanley voted yes.

Directors	Aye	Nay	Abstain
Chairman Stein	Х		
Richard Barlow	Х		
John Adams	Х		
Joel Freedman	Х		
Jim Hayden	Х		
Scott Shanley	Х		
Ralph Eno	Х		
Ad-Hoc			
Bob Painter, CSWS	Х		

RESOLUTION REGARDING CSWS SOUTH MEADOWS UNITS 5 AND 6 POWER PURCHASE AGREMENT

Chairman Stein requested a motion on the above referenced item. Director Adams made the motion which was seconded by Director Eno.

RESOLVED: The President is hereby authorized to enter into the <u>CSWS South Meadows Units</u> 5 and 6 Power Purchase Agreement with NextExtra Energy Power Marketing LLC for the purchase of the first net 20MW each hour of the day generated by the South Meadows Units 5 and 6, commencing January 1, 2015 and terminating June 30, 2016, substantially as presented and discussed at this meeting.

Ms. Hunt presented background on the proposed resolution language. She noted that she wished to amend the language of the Resolution by adding the words, "for a term of eighteen months" after "Units 5 and 6." She then presented the full revised resolution as follows and asked for Director Adams and Director Eno to approve the following amended resolution.

Director Adams, maker of the motion and Director Eno, who seconded the original motion agreed to the changes shown herein, as presented by Ms. Hunt and the resolution was passed as usual.

RESOLVED: The President is hereby authorized to enter into the <u>CSWS South Meadows Units</u> 5 and 6 Power Purchase Agreement with NextExtra Energy Power Marketing LLC for the purchase of the first net 20MW each hour of the day generated by the South Meadows Units 5 and 6 for a term of eighteen months, commencing January 1, 2015 and terminating June 30, 2016, substantially as presented and discussed at this meeting.

The motion previously made and seconded was approved unanimously by roll call. Chairman Stein, Vice-Chairman Barlow, Director Adams, Director Eno, Director Freedman, Director Hayden, Director Nunn, and Director Shanley voted yes.

Directors	Aye	Nay	Abstain
Chairman Stein	Х		
Vice-Chairman Barlow	Х		
John Adams	Х		
Ralph Eno	Х		
Joel Freedman	Х		
Jim Hayden	Х		
Andrew Nunn	Х		
Scott Shanley	Х		
Ad-Hoc			
Bob Painter, CSWS	Х		

ADJOURNMENT

Chairman Stein requested a motion to adjourn the meeting. The motion to adjourn was made by Director Adams and seconded by Director Eno and was approved unanimously.

There being no other business to discuss, the meeting adjourned at 3:09 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Eileen R. Kearney Temporary Board Administrator